Endless Summer

When I finished my video for All or Nothing, I knew immediately that I wanted to work with Amy Starr again. I would have that opportunity in June of 2010. She enjoyed the first production we put together, and was eager to be involved with another project.

Once I secured her interest, the next step for me was finding a suitable location. I wanted something new, and with the warm weather, was planning to focus on a more extended outdoor scenario. This is when I decided to contact some homeowners in the area who put their houses on the market for seasonal rentals during this time of year. I figured these are people who do not mind letting strangers stay in their house for weeks at a time, they ought to be open to renting out their property for a few hours.

I contacted someone who had a nice house and a beautiful, landscaped backyard, and he agreed to rent me the use of his place for the shoot. We were all set for the last Saturday of June, just before the peek vacation season.

Now this was also a time when my car would begin its last gasps of life. As luck would have it, the morning of the shoot as I was leaving to pick up Amy from the train station, my car broke down. It turned out the fuel pump finally went. I had to arrange for a tow truck to bring me to the service station, and then hastily book a rental car. The whole episode made me about an hour late, but Amy was very understanding.

One of the unforeseen results of this incident was that as I was transferring my equipment bag from my car to the rental vehicle, I forgot to grab my tripod. This meant the video would be shot completely free-hand, something of a first for me. Although I did try to steady the camera on a flat surface whenever I could. At least I remembered to bring the camera! I will say in retrospect, this made it easier to follow Amy’s actions around and I don’t mind going without a tripod when there is a lot of movement.

The story itself that I devised was a simple idea of Amy arriving at her distant relative’s house to spend the summer break. I needed to provide a context that she was in a location unfamiliar to her character. This was because while preparing to lie out in the sun, she would get her shirt caught in the sliding glass doors. Once locked outside, Amy would go through a run of bad luck of her own, losing the rest of her clothes piece by piece. She would then spend the majority of the video stuck outside naked, anxious about the return of her relatives.

A couple of points I found noteworthy. The availability of the pool allowed for a brilliant skinny-dipping interlude, where Amy’s character almost forgets her circumstances and starts to feel a little too good, before coming to her senses. It was hot out that day, and she was grateful for the refreshing dip. And also, the development of her character’s cousin “Rachel” was entirely Amy’s idea as she adlibbed about her situation and possible events, exploring the notion she was being pranked the whole time.

The video comes to an abrupt but exciting end, when Amy has to open the front door to sign for a package delivery, and a car drives by for real. That seemed to be an appropriate place to finish, before we got into any more trouble.

The music soundtrack for this video is from Antonio Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons”: Summer. An appropriate selection, I think, considering the title and overall feel of this production. Everything one might associate with the season… warm, sunny, beautiful, fun; all this is captured by Amy’s performance.

Below is a link to download the file for the Outtakes video. At one point, Amy says to me, “I want something to be good for you today,” in reference to my car trouble. Boy did she ever make it worthwhile!

The full video is 19 minutes and is available at my Clips4Sale store.

Endless Summer – Outtakes

4 responses to “Endless Summer

  1. Pingback: Amy Starr | Narrow-minded Productions

  2. Ah I remember the pool scene and the ending quite well. Nearly always remember the duck photo, always loved that one.

    • The outtakes show pretty well how we were frantic to get back inside after someone passed by and says, “Whoa!”

      This was overall just a fun shoot, and one of my personal favorite videos. I should try to work in more duck photos!

  3. Pingback: Quot of the Day | Narrow-minded Productions

Leave a Reply

