Outtakes Video: Late for Work

I have uploaded a clip of outtakes from my video with Monique. It runs about 6 and a half minutes. But first I want to talk about some of the creative process behind this production.

Monique contacted me back in August, and we scheduled the shoot for a Sunday afternoon in the middle of September. We were supposed to start around 1:00 PM. She was driving from New Jersey, however, and ran into some unexpected heavy traffic.  Not only was her character “Late for Work”, but poor Monique was also late for the shoot. I just love the irony. We did not get started until closer to 5:00 PM.

I did utilize the time to make myself familiar with the hotel location, scouting out rooms and hallways where I thought it would be safe to shoot. Also, I drove out to the outdoor location, which was just down the road to make sure it would be safe. It turns out, that it was probably better we did this later in the day rather than in the early afternoon.

Going into the set-up for the story, there were a couple of objectives I had in mind. I wanted to capture Monique wearing the Hello Kitty panties. Yes, I used them before in my video The Rules. But this time, it would be as a result of her character not having any other choice of underwear. I came up with the fever premise to give her an excuse to lie down, and also I wanted to use a thermometer prop. This leads to Monique waking up abruptly, realizing she is late for work.

I love the idea of a woman being oblivious to her embarrassing condition. Another example could be a girl lying out in the backyard for some topless sunbathing and falling asleep. But the sound of a doorbell wakes her up, and she answers the door forgetting that she is not wearing a top. In this video, Monique forgets that she has not yet put on a skirt, and furthermore, her selection of underwear is quite childish. She leaves her building in such a state. And while we do not see any extras on screen, one can imagine the stares she would receive from people her character would pass.

Now, onto the controversial woods scenario…  A few days before the shoot, I watched an episode of Law and Order: Criminal Intent. This was episode 8 from the 6th season, called “The War at Home”. It involves a scene where a very pretty young woman goes missing after a night of clubbing. The detectives are searching a wooded area, and find a pair of heels. As they continue the search, the come across item by item…  the hot dress she was wearing, her bra, and even her panties. As the viewer, we know what the girl looked like before her disappearance, and can only come to the conclusion she must now be naked. Like the detectives, we are left to wonder what exactly happened, and try to piece together the clues of her clothing. Here is a fan review that pretty well sums up the scene:

“There they find a purse in the nearby woods, and so a search is launched. Soon her shoes are also found in the woods, and so her friend is brought to the scene for questioning. There she confesses that she, Amanda and another Army friend all went into the city for the night…. Soon Amanda’s underwear is found in the woods and so is her dress. All of her clothing from that night have been recovered, so where is Amanda? Or worse still where is her body? Soon the team believes that Amanda herself may have scattered the clothes and has now gone AWOL.”

The element I wanted to introduce was someone (my hands from behind the camera) stumbling across the discarded clothes. I have called this concept “implied action”, that is, the fact that Monique’s items are snagged and torn off is not shown explicitly on camera, but is a conclusion that must be reached by the viewer. We do get to see the result. The next time we fade in to Monique, she is picking her way bare-assed naked through the woods.

Now of course, my video is played for comedy, not the drama of a Law & Order episode. I added the part about Monique hearing a bear because that subject was discussed on the OCC forums several months ago. My intention was not to portray a bear chase as the sole reason she was running and had lost her clothes. The problem was the ground would make it very difficult for her to actually run, which would have been more realistic. I think her character was more concerned about making her way back home after her car broke down, and the bear was just one more misfortune in a day when everything goes wrong.

When Monique and I returned to the hotel, we then prepared to shoot the remaining scenes that took place outside the room. I let her clean up first, and she was comfortable walking about the halls in just a towel. The place did have a pool, so it would be a reasonable excuse. I wish the second half was more balanced in length, but due to the risky nature of shooting her nude scenes, it happens pretty quick. Much faster than what I thought until I reviewed the video for editing. Nevertheless, it was a lot of fun, sneaking about the work-out room and aforementioned pool area as well as getting Monique to run down the hallway completely nude.

I have to say, she did keep a very sharp lookout for security cameras. That is why she did not go out all the way toward the pool, or why we only used the one side of the gym. It was a curious combination of her being comfortable with her nudity, but also cautious and kind of shy. She did not want to get caught, although I told her if anyone, I would be the one to get in trouble.

Also, I wanted to mention that while we were outdoors, the path through the woods led to an open soccer field. At the time we were shooting the scene, we saw there were some people on motor-bikes in the distance. She makes a quick reference to this in the outtakes video. If she had been feeling up to it, in hindsight, I should have approached these people and asked if they would let Monique run by them. What I like about this cute young woman, is she seems willing be adventurous, as long as it is within reason.

Here is the link to download the outtakes clip:

Late for Work – Outtakes

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

