Outtakes Video: Hope Springs Eternal

I have put together a clip of outtakes and behind the scenes moments from my video with Danielle and Elena. There were multiple, alternate takes throughout the various scenes, including the opening exchange between the two characters. Often, I was not happy with an angle or had a shot ruined by a mirror. Danielle’s place, I’ve found, is not the most ideal location for photography.

In my experience, and I think I’ve mentioned this before, an actor’s first take on a scene usually ends up being their best. Most likely because when asked to deliver a line again, they focus too hard on trying to get it right and it comes out less natural. A number of scenes in the finished video, I spliced together from separate shots. Examples are when Danielle first took the towel from Elena, and later when she grabbed the shorts away from her before moving.

During the shoot, both girls were having fun, although maybe Danielle more than her friend. She definitely got a kick out of seeing her friend naked, and playing a part in this. It will be seen, Danielle had the giggles, and at times I had to bring her back into character. In hindsight, she could have played the loss of her own clothes as a more dramatic event, but she couldn’t stop laughing. I guess it kind of fit her character (and real life persona) of being more open about her body than Elena.

Finally, at the end, there is a little bit of playfulness the girls had in the kitchen with the towel. I didn’t see a way to fit this into the finished production, but I figured it would be something neat to share as part of these outtakes.

The piano music at the beginning is Peanuth O’Toole’s track named after the title “Hope Springs Eternal”. I faded in with his excellent guitar track “Appetite for Spring” near the end of the clip.

The running time is just under 8 minutes, and can be downloaded at the link below.

Outtakes Video: Hope Springs Eternal

Enjoy!

SpringDaniElenaTowel

SpringDaniElenaCouch

2 responses to “Outtakes Video: Hope Springs Eternal

  1. I’ve read that very famous actors like the first take best for the same reason. It’s more natural. I recall reading in a biography of John Wayne that this was his opinion. When he first broke into B westerns the first take was usually used for budgetary reasons. That’s where he learned that the first take was often best.

    • Hey, Mike, I think it’s true. I first discovered this back during the making of Babysitting Without a Net. So even talented and rehearsed actresses would often give their best take the first time around. I sometimes think directors shoot scenes multiple times just to seem professional and thorough, showing that they will have a variety of shots to work with. The idea of doing one pass, then cut and print, is probably too reminiscent of Ed Wood style B-movies like the westerns you mentioned.

      Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

