Outtakes Video: The Boss is Back

I have put together a special clip of outtakes from my video with Briella. Of course there are the usual bits in between takes, with Briella laughing or funny moments as I give her directions. But in two extended cases, I have extra content that I did not go on to use in the finished video.

The first happens after Briella’s character hangs up the phone ending her initial conversation. I had tried a sequence that would require her get up from the desk and further contemplate leaving the building totally naked. This would have her walk toward the camera before fading out. In reviewing the material, I was concerned with the growing reflection in the glass window, which I even asked her character to reference. In addition, the corner of the room where we set up the desk was just too claustrophobic and difficult to maneuver around to capture the angle I wanted. And then the fact that part one was already pushing over 13 minutes of running time, there was no need to belabor the scene further. I actually quite like the way it ends now, with Briella’s expression, as she says goodbye and puts down the telephone receiver.

Additionally, the last 3 minutes or so of this clip was my original attempt to build a better wrap up to the video. As I mentioned previously, I had wanted to close with an outdoor running across the parking lot segment, but those plans were derailed. So back in the room, I hastily thought of having her realize after the fact that her clothes were missing. While I did keep that revelation as a punctuated finale, there were a number of issues with drawing out this scene. First, her clothes were scattered all over the place, coming into view in too many shots. (These are things you don’t always notice in the heat of recording.) And again, the oncoming evening was making the reflection in the glass window more glaring, capturing the bed in the room. Hardly appropriate for an illusory office setting. At one point, I did close the blinds, but it wouldn’t matter because it still created incongruous images when one angle had them open and then closed the next time.

I also toyed with the idea of Briella picking up the laptop and using it as cover, to add in a bit of hidden nudity. But for all the reasons I mentioned above, it was just not worth keeping this scene in the final production. In hindsight, I feel it was wise to just end the story where I did. These extended bits of Briella nude are preserved in this outtakes clip, so we can enjoy separate from the video’s overall coherence.

Another point to mention, Peanuth O’toole had provided me with some bird song effects and a dog barking, that I slipped into some of the outdoor scenes in the full production. I liked mixing his synthesized birds with the real chirps and tweets that occur naturally. And so I used this to open the outtakes, and then close out with his “Corporate Jungle” punk rock track.

The clip runs about 9 minutes, and can be downloaded at the link below.

Outtakes – The Boss is Back

Enjoy!

BriellaOutPhone

BriellaOutside

BriellaOutLaptop

Leave a Reply

