Outtakes Video: Roll of the Dice

Only a three and a half minute for this clip of outtakes. That’s because once we were outside, I was able to use most of the raw video for the finished production, without a lot of extraneous material. Especially when we crossed the narrow bridge in the woods. Briella was keeping in motion, acting nervous both in character and for real, even as I was giving her directions. It was better to just drop the sound, and edit in the bird sound effects for those parts, which blends in with the natural ambience anyway.

What I do include here at the beginning of the shoot, is how working from behind the low table where we rolled the dice was somewhat of a challenge. The moment I gave up on using the tripod was after Briella makes her first throw. It was difficult to swing the camera down to show the results, in that position.

One of the things I liked was how the turns we took played out authentically, and I beat her in each round, without needing to redo any takes. When the dice fell off the table, that just added a nice touch, to weigh the odds further against Briella. The idea behind the story concept was that her character would lose badly, overwhelmingly, adding to her embarrassment and willing to go along with the forfeit.

There is an extra moment I captured here when Briella was putting on her running shoes to go out. They apparently fit tightly, and it took longer for her to get the laces tied up. I cut this scene down in the finished video, but I thought it was kind of adorable to watch.

Another thing I should mention, her dog Dakota is very well behaved, and I enjoyed featuring as a part of the background scenery in the apartment setting. But it was an after the fact realization that while I was focused on Briella, and trying to maintain continuity of the frames, sometimes Dakota would move her head or switch positions. This added an extra challenge to the post production, and is one of the reasons for the rough cuts in the first part.

The most important aspect for me is to show Briella laughing and having a good time. She really is a lot of fun to work with, and these outtakes demonstrate that quality. For the music, I used Peanuth O’Toole’s new track made for this production “Call of the Nymph” at the start and finish.

The clip can be downloaded at the link below:

Outtakes Video: Roll of the Dice

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Outtakes Video: Roll of the Dice

  1. Oh wow there was a dog? Even after the 10th time watching it I had only eyes for Briella, so I didn´t realize that there was something other than this beautiful woman. Thank you for telling us, else I wouldn´t have seen Dakota ever maybe.

Leave a Reply

